Gillette Series, India Vs Australia 1st ODI

India Vs Australia 1st ODI
Source –

India Vs Australia 1st ODI, Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

After winning the historic Test Series against Australia in Australia, team India is in good form. Yet you can’t start ignoring the Aussies in their home soil. As, they proved in the first India Vs Australia 1st ODI of the 3 match series by winning it by 34 runs. Sydney Cricket Ground was selected for the India Vs Australia 1st ODI. While the ground was always suited spinners but in this India Vs Australia 1st ODI it doesn’t seems like to help them as much as it does in previous ones. Australia won the toss and elected to bat first.

Australians didn’t started as expected because Australian skipper Aaron Finch and wicket-keeper Alex Carey couldn’t do much for their team. Aaron got bowled in the third over by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He only scored 6 runs in 11 balls. Similarly, Alex Carey also loose his wicket against India’s Chinaman Kuldeep Yadav in the second last ball of powerplay (i.e 9.5 overs). Alex scored 24 in 31 balls with 5 fours

After the average powerplay, Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh keep the score board running and playing the smooth innings. Until drinks the hosts scored 75/2. Usman scored his 5th ODI fifty in 70 balls with 5 fours. Although in 29th over Ravindra Jadeja LBW Khawaja and for that reason Khawaja took DRS but unfortunately for Khawaja it was umpire’s call and hopefully Australia retained their DRS. Usman Khawaja made 59 in 81 balls with 6 fours. Both Usman and Marsh partnershipped for valued 92 runs.

Furthermore after the drinks, the Australians score was 160/3. Shaun Marsh also scored his 13th ODI fifty in 65 balls with 4 fours. After the couple of overs past drinks, Shaun Marsh also looses his wicket. He scored 54 in 70 balls including 4 fours. It was his 2nd ODI fifty. In the last few overs Marcus Stoinis and Peter Handscomb played a fiercy knock. Peter scored 73 in 62 balls with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes. While, Marcus added 47 in 43 balls with 2 fours and 2 sixes. The strike rate of Peter and Marcus was 119.67 and 109.3 respectively. Both partnershipped for crucial 68 runs for 5th wicket.

In the end Maxwell also played small role in adding 11 runs in just 5 balls which include 1 four. In the last 7 overs, Australians scored 80 runs which help them to score a decent score of 288/5. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav were the 2 successful bowlers for India as they grabbed 2-2 wickets each.

289 for India wasn’t much to chase, but their start was horrible as they loose 3 wickets at the score of 4 . However, in the first over itself, Australia lost their sole DRS against Rohit, however in the very next ball Dhawan got LBW from debutant Jason Behrendorff. Dhawan couldn’t even scored a single run.

This time Indian skipper Virat Kohli used to show his form for his team and country but unfortunately he couldn’t do much as in the 4th over against Jhye Richardson he got out and in the same over Rayudu also got LBW. Both Kohli and Rayudu scored 3 and 0 respectively. India’s score was 4/3.

As always all eyes were on Rohit Sharma and most experienced player inĀ India’s squad MS Dhoni. Both played superbly and partnershipped for 137 runs to get team back on track to chase 289. MS Dhoni scored his 68th ODI fifty in 93 balls with 3 fours and 1 six. However, just after his fifty he got LBW by Behrendorff. He scored 51 in 96 balls. After Dhoni dismissal, Karthik and Jadeja also couldn’t do much and lost their wickets to Jhye Richardson. They both scored 12 and 8 respectively.

After that Bhuvneshwar came to ground and scored unbeaten 29 but wasn’t enough fot India to win the game. In final overs Stoinis got Rohit’s wicket and India looses its sole hope to win the game. Rohit scored 133 in 129 balls with 10 fours and 6 sixes at the strike rate of 103.1.

As a result, India couldn’t won the India Vs Australia 1st ODI match as they were short off 34 runs. Australia leeds the series by (1-0).

Man of the Match – Jhye Richardson

Australia’s Playing XI – Aaron Finch(c), Alex Carey(wk), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Nahan Lyon, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff.
India’s Playing XI – Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli(c), Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, K Khaleel Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *