COA asks BCCI to pick Women Polly Umrigar Award


Polly Umrigar Award

BCCI awarded women Polly Umrigar Award

Polly Umrigar Award is named after the Indian cricketer Pahlan Ratanji Umrigar. He played first class cricket for Bombay and several test matches for team India. Pahlan Ratanji Umrigar was born in Solapur, Bombay Presidency, British India. He captained Indian Cricket Team from 1955 to 1958 in 8 test matches. He retired in 1962 and played total 59 tests, scored 3631 runs with 12 centuries.

This year Committee of Administrators(COA) appointed by Supreme Court wants to represent International Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award just like Polly Umrigar Award(Men’s International Cricketer of the Year). So COA informs BCCI CEO Rahul Johri about this award over mail.

Without any delay, Johri asked GM Saba Karim to nominate deserving women for the award. After sending the mail to BCCI and informing them about their idea, the COA met on April 12 and discussed about the upcoming BCCI award ceremony, without mentioning anything about the International Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award.

Hence, the BCCI awards ceremony will take place in June 12. Only then the world will come to know about the fate of the suggestion of COA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *